Emails to Obama! Creating Change for People with Disabilities!

Posted on 13 November 2008. Filed under: Advocacy, Email Obama! | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , |

[People who wish to communicate with the Obama administration should PLEASE CONTACT THEM DIRECTLY. I am NOT able to pass along your emails to the Obama administration. You can contact the White House at http://www.whitehouse.gov/contact/. Or you may prefer to contact the White House Office of Public Liaison, which in their own words is “the front door to the White House through which everyone can participate and inform the work of the President,” at http://www.whitehouse.gov/administration/eop/opl/]

Politicians are more quick to do as they promise when they know the world is watching them. That’s why it’s important for people with disabilities, Deaf people, our loved ones, colleagues, and other allies SEND EMAILS TO OBAMA! Let him know that we are aware of the promises Obama has made to people with disabilities! I have linked to several letters to Obama below in the hope of inspiring others to write letters of their own.

Letters to Obama
The disability community of Kosovo congratulates Obama and urges him to support disability rights internationally as well as domestically: http://wecando.wordpress.com/2008/12/18/kosovo-obama-disability/

A Deaf woman with attention deficit disorder in the US writes about how she felt when Obama mentioned people with disabilities in his election night speech–and what she hopes he will do next: https://reunifygally.wordpress.com/2008/11/05/thank_you_obama_disabilities/

A disabled person’s organization in Bangladesh sent this letter of congratulations: http://wecando.wordpress.com/2008/11/10/bpks-congratulates-obama/

An international disability activist from Uganda thanks the people of the United States for choosing Obama: http://wecando.wordpress.com/2008/11/11/uganda-thanks-us-for-obam/

Take Action!
1. Please send your own emails to Obama! Send your emails to Kareem Dale, Obama’s National Disability Vote Director (at kdale@barackobama.com), WITH COPIES TO Anne Hayes, a volunteer on the Obama Disability Policy Committee (at ahayesku@hotmail.com). Congratulate Obama; thank him for mentioning people with disabilities in his election night speech; then remind him of his promises to people with disabilities. He promised to increase educational opportunities; end discrimination; increase employment opportunities; and support independent, community-based living for Americans with disabilities. And he promised to sign the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD), the first international, legally-binding human rights treaty for people with disabilities.

2. Read more about the Call to Action that explains how and why people in the Deaf and disability communities should email Obama, and how people can educate themselves about Obama’s promises to people with disabilities. At http://wecando.wordpress.com/2008/11/07/disabilities-email-obama/ Or, most of the same text is also available in the slide show provided further below in this post (click on the arrows to advance through the show).

3. Spread the word! Please ask your friends and other people you know to write their own emails to Obama. Feel free to copy/paste the Call to Action into your blog, Facebook page, or email and circulate it. Or make a podcast or video to promote awareness of the email-writing campaign to Obama’s team and post it on-line. Or post the slideshow (below) at your blog.

4. Consider sharing your own letter to Obama as a way to help inspire others to write their own. Post the email that you sent to kdale@barackobama.com and ahayesku@hotmail.com in the comments area below for other people to see. If I like your letter, then I might also ask for permission to post it at this blog so it can attract a wider audience.

Of course, also let me know if you have blogged the email campaign–I’ll be happy to link to you.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

10 Responses to “Emails to Obama! Creating Change for People with Disabilities!”

RSS Feed for ReunifyGally Comments RSS Feed

[…] Want to read someone else’s letter to Obama before you write your own? Some links to a few letters to Obama are posted at: https://reunifygally.wordpress.com/2008/11/13/emails-to-obama-creating-change-for-people-with-disabil… […]

[…] more letters to Obama from the US and international Deaf and disability communities at https://reunifygally.wordpress.com/2008/11/13/emails-to-obama-creating-change-for-people-with-disabil… Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Uganda Activist Thanks America for […]

[…] volunteer on the Obama Disability Policy Committee (at ahayesku@hotmail.com). If you wish, you may read other people’s emails to Obama for […]

Hi, my name is Michael Wiltz, I would like to see a change in the social security process for filing about their disability. I was 30 years old just beginning to start make moves in life, then i was struck with all kind of illnesses and was unable to receive help for almost anything. I have a wife and four kids that depended on me. I filed over and over continually getting denied. Then i finally got approved but never got my back time for the six years that my family and i struggled seriously through. The SS office said that i never filed an appeal for the last decision but was approved for the new claim. Is their any one out there that will contact me tom speak out for help on this situation. I received my SS disability but have no insurance, I have to pay for most of my meds out of my pocket and expect to raise my family on a fixed income with medical expenses. I worked hard all my life until i fell sick and didn’t ask for help from anyone. I am a man of my own destiny. I believe in nothing that’s not real or follow no one that doesn’t speak the truth. We are the Alphas of our own Omegas. We are the beginnings of our own ends. President Obama I Believe in You That Can Change The World.

Hi, my name is Michael Wiltz, I would like to see a change in the social security process for filing about their disability. I was 30 years old just begining to start make moves in life, then i was struck with all kind of illnesses and was unable to receive help for almost anything. I have a wife and four kids that depended on me. I filed over and over continually getting denied. Then i finally got approved but never got my back time for the six years that my family and i struggled seriously through. The SS office said that i never filed an appeal for the last decision but was approved for the new claim. Is their any one out there that will contact me to speak out for help on this situation. I received my SS disability but have no insurance, I have to pay for most of my meds out of my pocket and expect to raise my family on a fixed income with medical expenses. I worked hard all my life until i fell sick and didn’t ask for help from anyone. I am a man of my own destiny. I believe in nothing that’s not real or follow no one that doesn’t speak the truth. We are the Alphas of our own Omegas. We are the beginnings of our own ends. President Obama I Believe in You That Can Change The World.

MEXICO D.F. ON DICEMBER 15TH 2008 .

CITIZON BARACK OBAMA
THE PRESIDENT ELECT OF THE UNITED STATES .
PRESENT
I AM A MEXICAN WHO CONGRATULATE YOU , BECAUSE YOU HAVE BECOME PEESIDENT OF YOUR COUNTRY, A GREAT NATION .
A GROUP OF DESHABILITY FRIENDS HAVE ASKED ME TO WRITE YOU AN EMAILL…
HERE YOU ARE.
WE ASK YOU TO SIGN, ON BEHALF OF DESABILITY PEOPLE, A TREATY WITH UNITED NATION ORGANIZATION. SO THAT YOUR COUNTY SUPPORT THIS KIND OF PEOPLE IN THE WORLD.
BECAUSE WE WISH TO BE RESPECT, HELPED, TO BE REHABILITATED AND TO BE EDUCATED WITH THE HELP OF THE SCIENSE

WHEN YOU WERE CANDIDAT TO THE PRESIDENCY, I PROPHESIED YOU WOULD WIN.
WE THANK YOU FOR HELP AND PLEASE GIVE OUR REGARDS TO YOUR FAMILY.
ATTENTIVELY
IGNACIO JUAREZ

MEXICO D.F. ON DICEMBER 15TH 2008 .

CITIZON BARACK OBAMA
THE PRESIDENT ELECT OF THE UNITED STATES .
PRESENT
I AM A MEXICAN WHO CONGRATULATE YOU , BECAUSE YOU HAVE BECOME PEESIDENT OF YOUR COUNTRY, A GREAT NATION .
A GROUP OF DESHABILITY FRIENDS HAVE ASKED ME TO WRITE YOU AN EMAILL…
HERE YOU ARE.
WE ASK YOU TO SIGN, ON BEHALF OF DESHABILITY PEOPLE, A TREATY WITH UNITED NATION ORGANIZATION. SO THAT YOUR COUNTY SUPPORT THIS KIND OF PEOPLE IN THE WORLD.
BECAUSE WE WISH TO BE RESPECT, HELPED, TO BE REHABILITATED AND TO BE EDUCATED WITH THE HELP OF THE SCIENSE

WHEN YOU WERE CANDIDAT TO THE PRESIDENCY, I PROPHESIED YOU WOULD WIN.
WE THANK YOU FOR HELP AND PLEASE GIVE OUR REGARDS TO YOUR FAMILY.
ATTENTIVELY
IGNACIO JUAREZ

hi my name is malek i’m from tunisia i need a job or some one help me to work in usa

My name is Erik Saxton. I am disabled and on Social Security. I am finding it difficut to live on my income, not to mention Heath Care costs being added.

Sothing needs to be done.

Also I need help in finding a job. I have been going to school but only because no companinees will hire me full time.

I have penty of skills

Sincerely,

Erik Saxton


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

