ASL-vlog the ADA Restoration–PLEASE!

Posted on 11 October 2007. Filed under: ADA Restoration Act of 2007, Advocacy |

I just now did a search at deafread.com on the phrase “ADA Restoration Act” and found that ALL the posts on this topic at deafread.com were written by, er, well — me.

Now maybe there were other posts that got missed because you didn’t use the exact phrase “ADA Restoration Act” (if so, please let me know so I can link to you). But, nevertheless, I would like to issue a challenge to other deaf bloggers AND ESPECIALLY ASL VLOGGERS:

PLEASE blog OR ASL-VLOG the ADA Restoration Act of 2007!

Sure, anyone who follows deafread.com will eventually come across one of my posts. But I have four points to make about that:

1. As you all know, not all Deaf people like receiving their information in English. Some would rather learn about the ADA Restoration Act in ASL. And why shouldn’t they? Me, I don’t have the techy equipment or the techy know-how to make my own vlog. And if I did–I’m afraid I read ASL much better than I sign it; when I sign, it still tends to come out in Englishy-word order because that’s how I think. Surely you could do much better!

2. I’m only one person. I can’t read everything or know everything. I can’t find all the great, fascinating informational resources out there on the ADA Restoration Act and I can’t blog on them all. Maybe you’ll find something out there I didn’t know about (or knew about but haven’t had time to write about) and can help bring that resource to a new audience–including me.

3. Maybe you’ll think of a fresh angle or perspective to offer. Try to come up with something creative — perhaps an ASL skit or a parody. Or just offer your own unique “voice” or writing style.

4. Not all readers come to deaf blogs via deafread. Many of you reach readers who will never find me because they will never go to deafread and will never go to any of the few sites that have linked to me so far. If YOU blog or vlog about the ADA Restoration Act then you might reach dozens or hundreds of people who might not have learned about it in any other way. Maybe a few of them would then contact their legislators because of it — helping bring us one step closer to passing the ADA Restoration Act.

And here’s one more reason to blog or vlog the ADA Restoration Act: I’ll link to you! Hey, free publicity for you and your blog or vlog! How about that?

And I’ll link to you even if you’re not Deaf or not in deafread.com — this is an open challenge to ANY one who has a blog or vlog!

Looking for inspiration to get you started on your blog or vlog? Start browing through some of the links below:

If you’re interested in how the courts have violated the spirit of the ADA, then you may want to explore my growing collection of stories about individual ADA court cases.

CCD has compiled an excellent collection of materials on the ADA and on the ADA Restoration Act of 2007, so it’s well worth following their link to www.c-c-d.org/ada. Great starting point for any would-be blogger or vlogger who’s still learning about the Restoration Act.

See my continually-updated list of blog entries from all over the web about the ADA Restoration Act of 2007, from July 26 2007 through TODAY, always available from the top navigation bar at “On the ADA Restoration Act.” Maybe some other blogger will give you inspiration.

Also, don’t miss these links: One group of activists has posted a short list of simple ideas of things you can do to help get the Restoration Act passed.

And do check out the ADA Restoration Blog for on-going updates.

You can also help urge people to contact their legislators.  I think this tool at UnderRepresented is the strongest one out there that makes it easier for you to speak up about the ADA Restoration Act to your legislators.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

8 Responses to “ASL-vlog the ADA Restoration–PLEASE!”

RSS Feed for ReunifyGally Comments RSS Feed

Hi Andrea,

I wanted to let you know that I just wrote a post about the United Spinal Association’s campaign to raise awareness about the ADA Restoration Act. Its at:

http://accessability.blogspot.com/2007/10/its-october-so-get-to-raising-awareness.html#links

[…] in spoken English…without captions — but not in ASL!) YOU could be the first! See my earlier appeal to would-be bloggers or […]

[…] make an ASL vlog (or a written blog, if you like) on the ADA Restoration Act! If you do, I’d be delighted to link […]

[…] make an ASL vlog (or a written blog, if you like) on the ADA Restoration Act! If you do, I’d be delighted to link […]

[…] make an ASL vlog (or a written blog, if you like) on the ADA Restoration Act! If you do, I’d be delighted to link […]

[…] make an ASL vlog (or a written blog, if you like) on the ADA Restoration Act! If you do, I’d be delighted to link […]

[…] already written to your representatives and senators, it can be worth writing them again. PLEASE make an ASL vlog (or a written blog, if you like) on the ADA Restoration Act! If you do, I’d be delighted to link […]

[…] about the ADA Restoration Act at http://www.powerquad.net/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=4827. PLEASE make an ASL vlog (or a written blog, if you like) on the ADA Restoration Act! If you do, I’d be delighted to link […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

