Be a Guest Blogger at Reunify Gallaudet!

Posted on 16 November 2006. Filed under: Submit Your Essays! |

Please be a guest blogger at my site on the reunification of Gallaudet!

In the weeks and months to come, I hope to post some of my own thoughts on how we all can work together toward the reconciliation and healing of the Gallaudet community. But I can’t do this work alone. No one can. The “reunification” of a community of thousands, by definition, implies the involvement of thousands.

I know many of you have brilliant ideas for things we can do to promote reconciliation among people on all sides of the protests. For example, some people on campus already have participated in forums. What else could we do, either on campus or on-line? If you write a proposal for your idea, I can post it here.

Or, google the phrase “Be the change you wish to see.” What did Mahatma Ghandi (and, today, his grandson Arun Ghandi) mean by the phrase? How can Ghandi’s philosophy apply to us and the way we handle discourse between FSSA and Fernandes supporters? Write an essay about it!

Or, write about how we can address issues related to racism, audism, homophobia, transphobia, sexism, or other “isms.”

Or … you name it! Write an essay! Please submit it to me at ashettle [at] patriot.net

Please bear in mind the following:

1. Submitting an essay is NOT a guarantee that I will publish it. (But you are always free to submit it for publication anywhere else.)

2. You may want to start by looking about the “about Reunify Gally” page to be sure you understand the purpose of this blog before submitting your essay. (Go to https://reunifygally.wordpress.com/about/)

3. Please ensure that your essay adopts a tone of respect toward people on ALL sides of the protests. I don’t want essays that are actively hostile toward ANY group of people. Nothing racist. Nothing that puts down big-D “Deaf” ASL users, or people who grew up oral (or still are), or grew up with SEE, or are hard of hearing, or have cochlear implants. Nothing hostile or insulting toward Fernandes, the protesters, I. King Jordan, or FSSA.

You don’t have to agree with everyone or their choices. But please demonstrate respect and openness toward others who believe differently. If you are not yet ready to fully accept and embrace people with different opinions on the protests–that’s fine. But please at least demonstrate clear readiness to take the first steps in that direction. If you cannot, then you are still welcome to participate in the comments section of this blog as long as you try to refrain from name-calling and flaming.

4. Please write CLEARLY. Either English or “ASL English” is fine. I might even consider Spanish 🙂

5. Please be patient. I work at a job with long, unpredictable hours. And I’m also taking a graduate class. It may take me a while to get back to you. I will at least try to acknowledge your email within 24 hours. If I don’t, please do follow up. I will TRY to respond with a decision within a week. (If you see your essay on my site, you will know I accepted it 🙂 ).

6. Yes, co-authored essays are welcome, too. I am especially interested in essays co-authored by people on different sides of the protests.

7. Let me know if you want to be anonymous, or if you want credit (either to your real name or to your “on-line” name).

8. Submit essays to ashettle (at) patriot.net

I look forward to all your thoughts and insights! Thanks!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Be a Guest Blogger at Reunify Gallaudet!”

RSS Feed for ReunifyGally Comments RSS Feed

[…] Elisa (for the few of you who don’t already know) is a blogger who actively supports FSSA. But to clarify, I very much want to see essay submissions from people on all sides of the protests, whether FSSA supporters or Fernandes supporters. I am especially interested in essays that are co-authored by both an FSSA-sympathizing partner and a Fernandes-sympathizing partner. Essays can be submitted to ashettle (at) patriot.net The main criteria is that they relate in some way to reunification or healing at Gallaudet, and help promote the process. See more details at https://reunifygally.wordpress.com/2006/11/16/be-a-guest-blogger-at-reunify-gallaudet/ […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

